Governance disclosures

Contracts with senior officers

At the date of reporting no senior officers had any interests in existing or proposed contracts with the FPC, other than normal employment contracts.


The FPC governing body is a Commission of seven commissioners appointed by the Governor, on the Minister for Forestry’s recommendation. The Governor appoints a Chairman and Deputy Chairman from the commissioners. Commissioners may hold office for up to three years and are eligible to be reappointed. Individuals are nominated for a position on the Commission based on expertise and business acumen relevant to the core functions of the FPC. Profiles for the commissioners can be found on the Board of Commissioners page.


Audit and Risk

The Audit and Risk Committee is responsible for making recommendations to the Commission on the adequacy of internal and external audit arrangements, financial statements, financial administration policies, internal control systems, business policies and practices, compliance with laws, monitoring business risk and reporting procedures. Members of the committee included Mr Geoffrey Totterdell (Chairman), Ms Amelia Yam, Mr Edwald Valom (1 July 2017 to 30 September 2017) and Mr Nick Bayes (commencing 1 October 2017).

People and Safety

The People and Safety Committee was formed in December 2017 to have oversight of the FPC’s corporate culture, people and leadership and the health, well-being and safety of FPC staff and contractors. Mr Ross Holt (Chairman), Mr Robert Pearce and Ms Vanessa Elliott are members of the committee.

Commission meetings and remuneration

The role and functions of the Commission are set out in the Act and the Commission is subject to the provisions within the Statutory Corporations (Liability of Directors) Act 1996. The Commission is responsible for the performance of the FPC’s statutory functions and determines its strategic direction. 

The Commission formally met seven times throughout the year. Individual members of the Commission provided their expertise on a number of important strategic issues relating to the forest industry, safety, strategic risk management, financial and fire management. The Commissioners visited a variety of forestry field operations and met with key industry stakeholders.

The Act requires Commissioners to disclose the nature of all material of personal interest in a matter being considered, or about to be considered by the Commission, as soon as possible after the relevant facts have come to the knowledge of the Commissioner.

  Commission Audit and Risk Committee People and Safety Committee
Number of meetings held 7 5 2
Name Period of membership Gross annual remuneration Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend Attended Eligible to attend
Mr Ross Holt (Chairman) 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018 $52,141 7 7 - - 2 2
Mr Geoffrey Totterdell (Deputy Chairman - 1 October 2017 to 30 June 2018) 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018 $21,789 7 7 5 5 - -
Mr Robert Pearce 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018 $21,652 7 7 - - 2 2
Ms Amelia Yam 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2018 $21,652 6 7 4 5 - -
Ms Vanessa Elliott 1 October 2017 to 30 June 2018 Public Sector Employee
No remuneration
5 5 - - 2 2
Mr Nick Bayes 1 October 2017 to 30 June 2018 $16,359 4 5 3 3 - -
Dr Louise Duxbury 1 October 2017 to 30 June 2018 $16,359 4 5 - - - -
Mr Ewald Valom (Deputy Chairman) 1 July 2017 to 30 September 2017 $7,009 2 2 2 2 - -
Mr Grant Woodhams 1 July 2017 to 30 September 2017 $6,972 2 2 - - - -